Ache

You did what you did
and I still ache
no matter how many times I tell myself
you can’t break what’s already broken

I learned that bruises can heal
and I hope you left only bruises
(How low can one be to hope for bruises?)
Instead I found new scars every day
even your ghost threw knives and never missed a spot

You left in peace and caused me chaos
my centre was shaken
my grounds shattered

I thought you can’t break what’s already broken
yet you did what you did
and I still ache

AB – 1.6.17

2 thoughts on “Ache

  1. This. brought. me. to. tears. I can’t express the emotion and how beautiful and raw this was!
    “learned that bruises can heal
    and I hope you left only bruises
    (How low can one be to hope for bruises?)
    Instead I found new scars every day
    even your ghost threw knives and never missed a spot”
    This stanza hit me so hard. The wording was perfect and I couldn’t help but shed a tear or two.

Leave a Reply

